© 2007 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

11/01/07 12:00 AM ET

O's broadcasters up for Frick Award

All six of Baltimore's local voices are nominated for honor

The Orioles have several different voices involved in their radio and television broadcast booths, so it's fitting that they have several people nominated for the league's Ford C. Frick Award, which is presented annually to a broadcaster for "major contributions to baseball." All six of Baltimore's local broadcasters have been nominated.

That list includes Joe Angel, Jim Hunter and Fred Manfra in addition to Buck Martinez, Jim Palmer and Gary Thorne. All six will be vying for the award named for Frick, the late broadcaster, league president, commissioner and Hall of Famer. Frick was a driving force behind the creation of the Hall of Fame and helped foster the relationship between radio and baseball.

Angel has been broadcasting for 26 years, and he's currently working on his third stint with the Orioles. The veteran has also voiced games for the Giants, A's, Twins, Yankees and Marlins. Angel has done both television and radio during his career, but he teamed with Manfra to work exclusively on radio broadcasts last season.

Manfra, a Baltimore native, has been broadcasting Oriole games for 15 seasons. Hunter has been in Baltimore for 11 seasons doing both television and radio work, and last year he served as a postgame studio host for the Mid-Atlantic Sports Network.

Palmer, a Hall of Famer with 268 wins on his resume, has worked 16 straight seasons as a television analyst covering Baltimore games. Seasoned play-by-play man Gary Thorne joined MASN for his first season in 2007, rounding out a 20-year run that has also seen him call games for the Mets and White Sox in addition to networks ABC and ESPN.

Martinez, a former manager and player, has worked for 21 years in the broadcast booth. He's spent the last five as a television analyst in Baltimore, and the two before that he served as manager for the Toronto Blue Jays. Martinez played pro ball for 23 seasons and started his broadcast career in Toronto before spending a successful 10-year run with ESPN.

Every year, the Ford C. Frick Award is presented during the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. Each award-winner is presented with calligraphy of the award during the ceremony and is recognized in the "Scribes & Mikemen" exhibit in the Library of the National Baseball Hall of Fame. The 2007 recipient was longtime Royals broadcaster Denny Matthews.

Fans can determine three of the 10 candidates on the final ballot by voting at baseballhall.org, beginning Thursday and throughout November. Active or retired broadcasters with a minimum of 10 years continuous broadcast service with a Major League club or a network or a combination of the two are eligible.

Fans may cast votes for as many as three broadcasters once daily, basing their decisions on four criteria: longevity; continuity with a club; honors, awards and national assignments such as the World Series and All-Star Games; and popularity.

The final ballot of 10 candidates, to be announced in early December, will include the three fan selections and seven other candidates determined by a Hall of Fame staff research team.

The Frick electorate includes all past winners and six historians appointed by the Hall of Fame.

Spencer Fordin is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.