PHILADELPHIA -- A fielder's-choice grounder that drove in two Marlins runs in the top of the second inning was overturned by replay review in the Phillies' 5-4, 10-inning win on Saturday night.

With two outs and the bases loaded, Marlins cleanup hitter Giancarlo Stanton hit a ball up the middle that Phillies second baseman Chase Utley slid and fielded. Utley's flip to shortstop Jimmy Rollins at second looked to end a Marlins rally that had already cut a two-run Phillies lead in half, but second-base umpire Gary Cederstrom ruled Marcell Ozuna safe and two runs crossed the plate to give the Marlins a 3-2 lead against Phils starter Jonathan Pettibone.

"First of all, it was a tremendous play by Chase Utley, just to have a chance at a replay," Phillies manager Ryne Sandberg said. "As it showed, Jimmy got there in time. Normally, that would have been a huge play in the game that you couldn't overturn. It went in our favor. That was a sensible challenge."

Rollins immediately looked to the home dugout for Sandberg to not only come out and argue the call, but ask for a review. Replays showed Rollins' foot hit the side of the base a fraction of a second before Ozuna, and after two minutes and 27 seconds, umpires overturned the call and took the runs off the board, leaving the Phillies with a 2-1 lead.

"It ended up potentially costing us a couple of runs, really," Marlins manager Mike Redmond said. "It looked close. It just looked like [Ozuna], for whatever reason, slid towards the back of the base, instead of the front part of the base. If he slides straight into the base, he is safe and we score two runs. That just seems to be the rut that we're in right now."

"When I went out there, I had a little word with Jimmy," Sandberg said. "He said, 'I think I nipped him,' then I checked with the bench, and it was definitely one we were going to challenge. I thought we were going to win it."

Even though his foot touched towards the back of the base, Ozuna felt he was still safe.

"It's unbelievable, because before he got the ball, I was sliding," Ozuna said. "Then they called safe.

"I really think I touched it. But it's OK."