To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.


Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

Roberto Clemente Award winners

2013Carlos BeltranSt. Louis
2012Clayton KershawLos Angeles (NL)
2011David OrtizBoston
2010Tim WakefieldBoston
2009Derek JeterNew York (AL)
2008Albert PujolsSt. Louis
2007Craig BiggioHouston
2006Carlos DelgadoNew York (NL)
2005John SmoltzAtlanta
2004Edgar MartinezSeattle
2003Jamie MoyerSeattle
2002Jim ThomeCleveland
2001Curt SchillingArizona
2000Al LeiterNew York (NL)
1999Tony GwynnSan Diego
1998Sammy SosaChicago (NL)
1997Eric DavisBaltimore
1996Kirby PuckettMinnesota
1995Ozzie SmithSt. Louis
1994Dave WinfieldMinnesota
1993Barry LarkinCincinnati
1992Cal Ripken, Jr.Baltimore
1991Harold ReynoldsSeattle
1990Dave StewartOakland
1989Gary CarterNew York (NL)
1988Dale MurphyAtlanta
1987Rick SutcliffeChicago (NL)
1986Garry MaddoxPhiladelphia
1985Don BaylorNew York (AL)
1984Ron GuidryNew York (AL)
1983Cecil CooperMilwaukee
1982Ken SingletonBaltimore
1981Steve GarveyLos Angeles
1980Phil NiekroAtlanta
1979Andre ThorntonCleveland
1978Greg LuzinskiPhiladelphia
1977Rod CarewMinnesota
1976Pete RoseCincinnati
1975Lou BrockSt. Louis
1974Willie StargellPittsburgh
1973Al KalineDetroit
1972Brooks RobinsonBaltimore
1971Willie MaysSan Francisco

History of the Roberto Clemente Award
The Roberto Clemente Award is given annually to a player who demonstrates the values Clemente displayed in his commitment to community and understanding the value of helping others. Each club nominates a player in September. The winner is selected from 30 nominees during the World Series.